Charter System Advisory Commitee Meetings

APS' Charter System Advisory Committee meets monthly to review and make recommendations to the charter system application. Open to the public, all meetings take place 6-8:30 pm at the Center for L...more

Updates on APS-Beltline Funding Issues

Stay up-to-date on the negotiations among APS, the city of Atlanta and the Atlanta Beltline regarding money owed APS with NAPPS

March 30 - Monday
Spring Conferences
Kindergarten Field Trip
March 31 - Tuesday
Spring Conferences
11:00 AM - 4th Grade Field Trip
April 1 - Wednesday
Spring Conferences
09:00 AM - School Tours
11:00 AM - 4th Grade Field Trip
April 2 - Thursday
Spring Conferences
1st Grade French Food Day
April 3 - Friday
Spring Conferences
1st Grade French Food Day
07:30 AM - Fidelity Bank
07:30 AM - School Store Open - IC and PC
April 6 - Monday
Spring Break - No School
April 7 - Tuesday
Spring Break - No School
April 8 - Wednesday
Spring Break - No School
April 9 - Thursday
Spring Break - No School
April 10 - Friday
Spring Break - No School
April 13 - Monday
4th Grade - HTHT
April 14 - Tuesday
4th Grade - HTHT
April 15 - Wednesday
4th Grade - HTHT
Georgia Milestones Testing - ELA/Reading
April 16 - Thursday
2nd Grade French Food Day
Georgia Milestones Testing - ELA/Reading
April 17 - Friday
2nd Grade French Food Day
Georgia Milestones Testing Make-Up Days
07:30 AM - Fidelity Bank
07:30 AM - School Store Open - IC and PC
April 20 - Monday
Georgia Milestones Testing Make-Up Days
April 21 - Tuesday
Georgia Milestones Testing - Math
April 22 - Wednesday
Georgia Milestones Testing - Science
12:00 PM - NAPPS Community Meeting - North Atlanta HS
April 23 - Thursday
Georgia Milestones Testing - Social Studies
April 24 - Friday
Georgia Milestones Testing Make-Up Days
07:30 AM - School Store Open - IC and PC
09:00 AM - Kindergarten Round-Up - PC
April 27 - Monday
1st Grade - HTHT
April 28 - Tuesday
1st Grade - HTHT
3rd Grade French Food Day
April 29 - Wednesday
1st Grade - HTHT
Unity Concert - PC
April 30 - Thursday
Kindergarten Field Trip
5th Grade French Food Day
May 1 - Friday
07:30 AM - Fidelity Bank
07:30 AM - School Store Open - IC and PC
May 4 - Monday
Rising Kindergarten Screening
May 5 - Tuesday
Rising Kindergarten Screening
May 6 - Wednesday
Rising Kindergarten Screening
May 7 - Thursday
Box Tops Collection Day
Rising Kindergarten Screening
4th Grade French Food Day
May 8 - Friday
Rising Kindergarten Screening
4th Grade French Food Day
07:30 AM - School Store Open - IC and PC
May 11 - Monday
International Travelers Week
May 12 - Tuesday
International Travelers Week
Local School Council Election Day
06:30 PM - 2nd Grade Night at the IC
May 13 - Wednesday
International Travelers Week
May 14 - Thursday
International Travelers Week
5th Grade PYP Exhibition
May 15 - Friday
International Travelers Week
5th Grade PYP Exhibition
07:30 AM - Fidelity Bank
07:30 AM - School Store Open - IC and PC
May 20 - Wednesday
Yearbook Signing - IC
05:30 PM - 5th Grade Graduation
May 21 - Thursday
Yearbook Signing - PC
May 22 - Friday
Last day of school!!!
End of Year Parties
May 25 - Monday
Memorial Day
June 2 - Tuesday
Final Report Cards

February 23, 2015

Hello Sarah Smith Community -  

Our annual “student-lead conferences” with parents, students, and teachers will be held between March 16 and April 3. 

During three-way conferences, the student, the parent and the teacher meet to discuss the child’s learning.  Everyone has a role to play in the conference.  

  • The child demonstrates what he/she knows by sharing accomplishments. 
  • The parents find out about their child’s learning, have opportunities to ask questions and express ideas, and demonstrate support for their child’s learning at school and at home.
  • The teacher serves as a facilitator and supports the child and the parents by clarifying, elaborating, and responding to specific questions.  

It is good when teachers see the parents with their children, and the parents see their children with the teacher. This interaction is very important as the children have the most significant adults in their lives showing interest in their learning and making commitments to support them.

Conference appointments will be made via Sign-Up Genius, so please watch for an invitation from the teacher.

Yearly Census Verification for 2015-2016

Atlanta Public Schools requires parents/guardians to review census information and verify residency each year. 

On February 25, 2015 parents/guardians will receive a packet of information requiring verification of the census data for each child.  Additionally, there is a requirement to provide an Affidavit of Residency along with documents proving residency.  This information must be provided for all children (including siblings) and it is due back to your child’s teacher on March 13, 2015.  

Remind 101

Just a friendly reminder…have you signed-up for text messages via the SRS Emergency texting service?  In order to register, simply follow this link http://www.remind101.com/join/srseme and enter your cell phone number.  You will automatically be added to the list.  So far 678 people have subscribed.  This service will ONLY be used to notify parents of emergencies. 

Mardi Gras Celebration 

The French department’s annual Mardi Gras Celebration will be held on February 24, 2015.  Everyone is anticipating a great deal of fun for the students and teachers.  Thanks to all the parent volunteers who have volunteered to assist with the celebration.

Congratulations to fifth grader Asanta Thorpe for designing this year’s Mardi Gras t-shirt!   

Did You Know?

Without the tremendous support of the Sarah Smith Educational Foundation (SSEF), Sarah Smith would not be able to provide teachers with the appropriate training to be approved as an International Baccalaureate (IB) school?  Each school year, the SSEF budgets approximately $27,000 for teachers who receive training for the IB program.  Thank you so much SSEF!

Staff Features

Each month, two staff members are randomly selected to be profiled in The Anchor.  This gives readers an opportunity to know a little bit about our wonderful faculty and staff members. 

Joshua Fleming – Music Teacher

Birthplace/Hometown: Kannapolis, NC (just outside of Charlotte)

Education : Bachelors Music Education from Johnson C. Smith University

Hobbies, Family, Interests: LOVES music, spending time with his family, reading.  Mr. Fleming has two daughters!

Claim to Fame: Opened for a Patti LaBelle Concert in 2006 (played the keyboard). Auditioned and gained a spot to perform fo:r the Apollo Show.

Favorite Quote: “Life is like riding a bicycle, to keep your balance, you must keep moving.” Albert Einstein

Krista Kaczay - EIP Teacher

Birthplace/Hometown: Sandusky, OH

Education: Bachelor of Science in Education from Bowling Green State University

Hobbies, Family, Interests: Mrs. Kaczay has a daughter, Sophia, who is a first grader at Sarah Smith and a son, William, who is two.  She loves saving money with coupons!

Claim to Fame: Her hometown, Sandusky, Ohio was featured as a Jeopardy game show question recently.

Favorite Quote: “The single most important activity for building the knowledge required for eventual success in reading is reading aloud to children.”

Your Principal,
Ken Proctor, Ed.D.