Headlines

Transportation Information

Be sure to review transportation information before school starts for carpool routes, bus routes and updates and change of dismissal requirements.

2014-15 Teacher Assignments

Check Infinite Campus for teacher assignments (1st-5th grade), or stop by the school to check the teacher assignment lists. Learn more.

Celebration of Learning

Celebration of Learning will take place at both campuses on Friday, August 1 from 5-7 p.m. Bring your checkbook to purchase your 2014-15 PTA membership and spirit wear.

Smith After School Registration

The Smith After School Program is now registering new families for the 2014-15 school year. Space is filling up quickly!

August 1 - Friday
12:00 PM - Staff Lunch
05:00 PM - Celebration of Learning - IC and PC
August 4 - Monday
First day of School
August 6 - Wednesday
Room Parent Sign-Up Form Due
August 13 - Wednesday
09:30 AM - Room Parent Meeting
August 18 - Monday
05:30 PM - Kindergarten Orientation
06:30 PM - 1st Grade Orientation
August 19 - Tuesday
05:30 PM - 2nd Grade Orientation
06:30 PM - 3rd Grade Orientation
August 20 - Wednesday
05:30 PM - 4th Grade Orientation
06:30 PM - 5th Grade Orientation
August 21 - Thursday
09:00 AM - PTA Committee Chair Meeting
August 29 - Friday
Spirit Day - College Colors
September 1 - Monday
Labor Day - School Closed
September 4 - Thursday
Reflections Class Rep Meeting
September 9 - Tuesday
09:30 AM - Present Parenting Speaker - PC Auditorium
07:00 PM - PTA Meeting - IC Gym
September 11 - Thursday
Deliver Cards to Fire and Police Depts
September 16 - Tuesday
New Parent Coffee - PC
September 18 - Thursday
Box Tops Collection Day
September 23 - Tuesday
New Parent Coffee - IC
September 25 - Thursday
03:30 PM - Local School Council Meeting
September 26 - Friday
Spirit Day - Wear Your Favorite Cap!
October 5 - Sunday
01:00 PM - SRS Work Day
October 6 - Monday
Parent-Teacher Conferences
October 7 - Tuesday
Parent-Teacher Conferences
October 8 - Wednesday
Walk To School Day
Fall Picture Day
Parent-Teacher Conferences
October 9 - Thursday
No School - Fall Break (Teacher Learning Day)
October 10 - Friday
No School - Fall Break
October 11 - Saturday
No School - Fall Break
October 12 - Sunday
No School - Fall Break
October 13 - Monday
No School - Fall Break
October 14 - Tuesday
Parent-Teacher Conferences
October 15 - Wednesday
Parent-Teacher Conferences
October 16 - Thursday
Reflections Due Date
Parent-Teacher Conferences
October 17 - Friday
Parent-Teacher Conferences
October 20 - Monday
Parent-Teacher Conferences
October 21 - Tuesday
Parent-Teacher Conferences
October 22 - Wednesday
Parent-Teacher Conferences
October 23 - Thursday
Parent-Teacher Conferences
October 24 - Friday
Parent-Teacher Conferences
Grandparents & Special Friends Day
October 25 - Saturday
Fall Festival
October 27 - Monday
Red Ribbon Week
October 28 - Tuesday
Red Ribbon Week
October 29 - Wednesday
Red Ribbon Week
October 30 - Thursday
Red Ribbon Week
October 31 - Friday
Red Ribbon Week
Spirit Day - Wear Orange & Black
November 5 - Wednesday
Picture Re-Take Day
November 11 - Tuesday
09:30 AM - Present Parenting Speaker - PC Auditorium
November 13 - Thursday
Box Tops Collection Day
November 24 - Monday
Thanksgiving Break - NO SCHOOL
November 25 - Tuesday
Thanksgiving Break - NO SCHOOL
November 26 - Wednesday
Thanksgiving Break - NO SCHOOL
November 27 - Thursday
Thanksgiving Break - NO SCHOOL
November 28 - Friday
Thanksgiving Break - NO SCHOOL
December 4 - Thursday
06:30 PM - Jr. Beta Club Induction
December 9 - Tuesday
1st Grade Candy-Gram Sale
December 10 - Wednesday
1st Grade Candy-Gram Sale
December 19 - Friday
Class Holiday Parties
December 22 - Monday
Holiday Break - NO SCHOOL
December 23 - Tuesday
Holiday Break - NO SCHOOL
December 24 - Wednesday
Holiday Break - NO SCHOOL
December 25 - Thursday
Holiday Break - NO SCHOOL
December 26 - Friday
Holiday Break - NO SCHOOL
December 27 - Saturday
Holiday Break - NO SCHOOL
December 28 - Sunday
Holiday Break - NO SCHOOL
December 29 - Monday
Holiday Break - NO SCHOOL
December 30 - Tuesday
Holiday Break - NO SCHOOL
December 31 - Wednesday
Holiday Break - NO SCHOOL
January 1 - Thursday
Holiday Break - NO SCHOOL
January 2 - Friday
Holiday Break - NO SCHOOL
January 3 - Saturday
Holiday Break - NO SCHOOL
January 4 - Sunday
Holiday Break - NO SCHOOL
January 5 - Monday
Holiday Break - NO SCHOOL
January 13 - Tuesday
09:30 AM - Present Parenting Speaker - PC Auditorium
07:00 PM - PTA Meeting - IC Gym
January 19 - Monday
MLK Day - No School
January 21 - Wednesday
Prospective Parents Meeting
January 22 - Thursday
Read-A-Thon
January 23 - Friday
Read-A-Thon
January 24 - Saturday
Read-A-Thon
January 25 - Sunday
Read-A-Thon
January 26 - Monday
Read-A-Thon
January 27 - Tuesday
Read-A-Thon
January 28 - Wednesday
Read-A-Thon
January 29 - Thursday
Read-A-Thon
January 30 - Friday
Read-A-Thon
January 31 - Saturday
Read-A-Thon
February 1 - Sunday
Read-A-Thon
February 2 - Monday
Read-A-Thon
February 3 - Tuesday
Read-A-Thon
February 4 - Wednesday
Read-A-Thon
PTA & SSEF Board Nominations Due
February 5 - Thursday
Read-A-Thon
February 6 - Friday
06:30 PM - Bingo Night
February 9 - Monday
Teacher Appreciation Week
February 10 - Tuesday
Teacher Appreciation Week
February 11 - Wednesday
Teacher Appreciation Week
February 12 - Thursday
Teacher Appreciation Week
February 13 - Friday
Winter Break - No School
February 16 - Monday
Winter Break - No School
February 17 - Tuesday
Winter Break - No School
February 19 - Thursday
Box Tops Collection Day
February 24 - Tuesday
Mardi Gras
March 4 - Wednesday
Walk To School Day
March 6 - Friday
06:00 PM - Taste of SRS
March 9 - Monday
Rising Kindergarten Registration (Last Names A-E)
March 10 - Tuesday
Rising Kindergarten Registration (Last Names F-M)
09:30 AM - Present Parenting Speaker - PC Auditorium
March 11 - Wednesday
Rising Kindergarten Registration (Last Names N-T)
March 12 - Thursday
Rising Kindergarten Registration (Last Names U-Z)
Spring Picture Day
March 16 - Monday
Teacher Learning Day - No School
March 23 - Monday
Health & Wellness Week
Spring Conferences
March 24 - Tuesday
Health & Wellness Week
Spring Conferences
March 25 - Wednesday
4th Grade Field Trip
Health & Wellness Week
Spring Conferences
06:30 PM - 5th Grade Musical
March 26 - Thursday
4th Grade Field Trip
Health & Wellness Week
Spring Conferences
06:30 PM - 5th Grade Musical
March 27 - Friday
Health & Wellness Week
Spring Conferences
March 30 - Monday
Spring Conferences
March 31 - Tuesday
4th Grade Field Trip
Spring Conferences
07:00 PM - PTA Meeting - IC Gym
April 1 - Wednesday
4th Grade Field Trip
Spring Conferences
April 2 - Thursday
Spring Conferences
April 3 - Friday
Spring Conferences
April 6 - Monday
Spring Break - No School
April 7 - Tuesday
Spring Break - No School
April 8 - Wednesday
Spring Break - No School
April 9 - Thursday
Spring Break - No School
April 10 - Friday
Spring Break - No School
April 24 - Friday
Kindergarten Round-Up
May 4 - Monday
Rising Kindergarten Screening
May 5 - Tuesday
Rising Kindergarten Screening
May 6 - Wednesday
Rising Kindergarten Screening
May 7 - Thursday
Box Tops Collection Day
Rising Kindergarten Screening
May 8 - Friday
Rising Kindergarten Screening
May 11 - Monday
International Travelers Week
May 12 - Tuesday
International Travelers Week
Local School Council Election Day
06:30 PM - 2nd Grade Night at the IC
May 13 - Wednesday
International Travelers Week
May 14 - Thursday
International Travelers Week
5th Grade PYP Exhibition
May 15 - Friday
International Travelers Week
5th Grade PYP Exhibition
May 20 - Wednesday
Yearbook Signing - IC
May 21 - Thursday
Yearbook Signing - PC
May 22 - Friday
Last day of school!!!
End of Year Parties
May 25 - Monday
Memorial Day
June 2 - Tuesday
Final Report Cards

Principal Newsletter

July 28, 2014

Hello Sarah Smith Community -  

I trust everyone has had an exciting and relaxing summer!  It was nice to “recharge” in preparation for the start of a new school year – it just went a little too fast!  2014-2015 is going to be an amazing year at Sarah Smith.  The faculty and staff have committed to working diligently on the following school improvement goals.  These goals have been identified as needing additional support through an analysis of achievement data.

  1. Improve math performance for all students. This is being accomplished through a variety of methods such as grouping for mathematics instruction every day (will begin the third week of school).  Providing additional resources, through the support of the Sarah Smith Education Foundation, to include Accelerated Mathematics and Math Exemplars – more will be written about these new programs in coming issues of The Anchor.
  2. Improve writing performance for all students.  Teachers will engage in professional learning throughout the school year to provide more thorough instruction in the types of writing required in the Common Core Georgia Performance Standards.  These include narrative, opinion and informational writing.

  3. Engage all members of the Sarah Smith Community. Through the help of the various organizations that work with Sarah Smith, strategies will be employed to engage more parents to have input in their children’s education.  Specifically, Latino families will be addressed within the plan.

  4. Improve staff morale. With the help of identified staff members, PTA representatives and Sarah Smith Education Foundation representatives, strategies will be put into place to improve staff morale and retain staff members.

Band and Orchestra

For the 2014-2015 school year, the decision has been made to discontinue offering band as so few students participate in the activity.  Orchestra also has a low number of student participants, but staff members felt it was important to continue to offer instrumental music in some form as an option for our students. 

Update on the Installation of Artificial Turf for the Playground at the Intermediate Campus 

PTA board members and school administrators have been working diligently with Atlanta Public Schools and the City of Atlanta to finalize requirements and permitting for the installation of the playground turf.  Unfortunately this project will not be completed by the first day of school as hoped.  Everyone is working towards an installation date over the next two months or so.  Please stay tuned…

Revised Classroom sections for 2014-2015

For the 2014-2015 school year, there will be 8 kindergarten teachers and teachers’ assistants, 10 first grade teachers, 8 second grade teachers, 7 third grade teachers, 7 fourth grade teachers, and 6 fifth grade teachers. 

Everyone is excited to welcome some new faces among our faculty and staff for the coming year as follows:

  • Michele Culbertson – First Grade
  • Becky Gamez – Second Grade
  • Ashley DesPres – Third Grade
  • Catherine Jones – Fifth Grade
  • Daniel Sprague (PE)
  • Donna Murrell-Speed (Sp. Ed.)
  • Candace Edgeworth (French)
  • Oksana Gonzalez (ESOL)

Some teachers have changed grade levels/positions as follows:

  • Susan Anderson from first to second grade
  • Jill Frank from third to second grade
  • Edith Woods from second grade to EIP
  • Sherry Riley from second to fifth grade
  • John Blackwell from fourth grade to ESOL
  • Holly Brookins from EIP to RTI/SST Specialist

Math Instruction

As I have communicated a number of times, students will be grouped differently for math instruction for the 2014 – 2015 school year.  Teachers will be reviewing student assessment information and making determinations about math progressions during the first two weeks of school.  Based on teachers’ findings, students will begin to change classes within their grade level to receive differentiation math instruction based on students’ needs. 

Atlanta Public Schools is requiring that eligible students in fourth grade have an opportunity to participate in ADVANCED MATH.  Very specific qualifications are in place to select these students who will receive instruction in fourth AND fifth grade mathematics during their math block each day.  When these students become fifth graders, they will receive instruction in sixth grade math standards so that when they are in middle school they can continue being instructed above grade level to reach more rigorous, advanced mathematics in high school.  More information will be provided for fourth grade students’ families during the first two weeks of the school year.

Your principal,

Ken Proctor, Ed.D.

 
 
 

 

 

 

 

From the Principal's Desk

On behalf of all of us at Sarah R. Smith Elementary School, I would like to welcome you to our website. Sarah Smith Elementary has a long and distinguished history of service to our children and families.  We are proud of our students.  They continue to achieve at high levels and make significant contributions.
 
--- Dr. Kenneth Proctor