Accessibility Toolbar A A A A U A + A - Revert Back To Original

USA Today D-Day 74th anniversary observed in France

From USA TODAY  D-Day 74th anniversary observed in France  David Chamberlain, left, grandfather Charly Powers and his son Steve, from Atlanta, Georgia, pay their respect by putting down a ...more

New Student Registration

Due to construction work & cleaning at the Primary Campus,  Registrations will be accepted at the Intermediate Campus only on Wednesday, July 18th located at 4141 Wi...more

July 23 - Monday
Class Assignments on Infinite Campus
July 25 - Wednesday
9:30 AM - Popsicles on the Playground Rising Kindergarten Families
July 26 - Thursday
Staff Appreciation Breakfast
July 30 - Monday
12:00 PM - Celebration of Learning 12-2pm
July 31 - Tuesday
Staff Lunch
August 1 - Wednesday
First Day of School
August 3 - Friday
Room Parent Sign Up Forms Due
August 10 - Friday
Room Parent Meeting-8am PC
August 13 - Monday
Kindergarten Orientation
First Grade Orientation
August 14 - Tuesday
2nd Grade Orientation
3rd Grade Orientation
August 15 - Wednesday
4th Grade Orientation
5th Grade Orientation
August 17 - Friday
8:00 AM - PTA Committee Chair Meeting-8am PC
August 24 - Friday
College Colors Spirit Day
September 3 - Monday
Labor Day Holiday
September 15 - Saturday
Hispanic Heritage Month
September 16 - Sunday
Hispanic Heritage Month
September 17 - Monday
Hispanic Heritage Month
September 18 - Tuesday
GATE Orientation 5:45pm-6:25pm
General PTA Meeting 7:00pm
Hispanic Heritage Month
September 19 - Wednesday
Hispanic Heritage Month
September 20 - Thursday
Hispanic Heritage Month
September 21 - Friday
Hispanic Heritage Month
September 22 - Saturday
Hispanic Heritage Month
September 23 - Sunday
Hispanic Heritage Month
September 24 - Monday
Hispanic Heritage Month
September 25 - Tuesday
Hispanic Heritage Month
September 26 - Wednesday
Hispanic Heritage Month
September 27 - Thursday
Hispanic Heritage Month
September 28 - Friday
Taste of Sarah Smith
Spirit Day-Wear Your Favorite Cap
Hispanic Heritage Month
September 29 - Saturday
SRS Work Day
September 30 - Sunday
Hispanic Heritage Month
October 1 - Monday
Hispanic Heritage Month
October 2 - Tuesday
Hispanic Heritage Month
October 3 - Wednesday
Walk to School Day
Hispanic Heritage Month
October 4 - Thursday
End of 1st Qrt/Report Cards
Hispanic Heritage Month
October 5 - Friday
Hispanic Heritage Month
October 6 - Saturday
Hispanic Heritage Month
October 7 - Sunday
Hispanic Heritage Month
October 8 - Monday
Teacher Professional Learning Day
Hispanic Heritage Month
October 9 - Tuesday
Teacher Professional Learning Day
Hispanic Heritage Month
October 10 - Wednesday
Fall Break
Hispanic Heritage Month
October 11 - Thursday
Fall Break
Hispanic Heritage Month
October 12 - Friday
Fall Break
Hispanic Heritage Month
October 13 - Saturday
Hispanic Heritage Month
October 14 - Sunday
Hispanic Heritage Month
October 22 - Monday
Red Ribbon Week
October 23 - Tuesday
Red Ribbon Week
October 24 - Wednesday
Red Ribbon Week
October 25 - Thursday
Red Ribbon Week
October 26 - Friday
Red Ribbon Week
October 27 - Saturday
Fall Festival
October 31 - Wednesday
Spirit Day-Wear Orange & Black or Costume
November 19 - Monday
Thanksgiving Break
November 20 - Tuesday
Thanksgiving Break
November 21 - Wednesday
Thanksgiving Break
November 22 - Thursday
Thanksgiving Break
November 23 - Friday
Thanksgiving Break
December 4 - Tuesday
Science Night
December 21 - Friday
Holiday Parties
December 24 - Monday
Holiday Break-No School
December 25 - Tuesday
Holiday Break-No School
December 26 - Wednesday
Holiday Break-No School
December 27 - Thursday
Holiday Break-No School
December 28 - Friday
Holiday Break-No School
December 31 - Monday
Holiday Break-No School
January 1 - Tuesday
Holiday Break-No School
January 2 - Wednesday
Holiday Break-No School
January 3 - Thursday
Holiday Break-No School
January 4 - Friday
Holiday Break-No School
January 21 - Monday
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day-No School
January 29 - Tuesday
General PTA Meeting-6:30pm
February 1 - Friday
Read-a-Thon
Black History Month
February 2 - Saturday
Read-a-Thon
Black History Month
February 3 - Sunday
Read-a-Thon
Black History Month
February 4 - Monday
Read-a-Thon
Black History Month
February 5 - Tuesday
Read-a-Thon
Chinese New Year
Black History Month
February 6 - Wednesday
Read-a-Thon
Black History Month
February 7 - Thursday
Read-a-Thon
Black History Month
February 8 - Friday
Read-a-Thon
Black History Month
February 9 - Saturday
Read-a-Thon
Black History Month
February 10 - Sunday
Read-a-Thon
Black History Month
February 11 - Monday
Read-a-Thon
Black History Month
February 12 - Tuesday
Read-a-Thon
Black History Month
February 13 - Wednesday
Read-a-Thon
Black History Month
Mardi Gras
February 14 - Thursday
Read-a-Thon
Black History Month
February 15 - Friday
Black History Month
PTA & SSEF Board Nominations Due
February 16 - Saturday
Black History Month
February 17 - Sunday
Black History Month
February 18 - Monday
Black History Month
Teacher Professional Learning Day-No School
February 19 - Tuesday
Black History Month
Teacher Professional Learning Day-No School
February 20 - Wednesday
Black History Month
Winter Break
February 21 - Thursday
Black History Month
Winter Break
February 22 - Friday
Black History Month
Winter Break
February 23 - Saturday
Black History Month
February 24 - Sunday
Black History Month
February 25 - Monday
Black History Month
February 26 - Tuesday
Black History Month
February 27 - Wednesday
Black History Month
February 28 - Thursday
Black History Month
March 1 - Friday
Bingo Night
March 4 - Monday
Rising Kindergarten Registration
March 5 - Tuesday
Rising Kindergarten Registration
March 6 - Wednesday
Rising Kindergarten Registration
March 7 - Thursday
Rising Kindergarten Registration
March 8 - Friday
Rising Kindergarten Registration
March 18 - Monday
Teacher Work Day-No School
March 26 - Tuesday
PTA General Meeting
April 1 - Monday
Spring Break
April 2 - Tuesday
Spring Break
April 3 - Wednesday
Spring Break
April 4 - Thursday
Spring Break
April 5 - Friday
Spring Break
April 26 - Friday
Kindergarten Round Up
May 9 - Thursday
Field Day
May 10 - Friday
Field Day
May 13 - Monday
International Travelers Week
May 14 - Tuesday
International Travelers Week
May 15 - Wednesday
International Travelers Week
May 16 - Thursday
International Travelers Week
May 17 - Friday
International Travelers Week
May 21 - Tuesday
Yearbook Signing Day
May 23 - Thursday
5th Grade Graduation
Honors Ceremony
May 24 - Friday
Last Day of School-End of Year Parties
May 27 - Monday
Memorial Day Holiday

Dear Sarah Smith Elementary School Parents and Community:

I  am excited and honored to join the Sarah Smith Elementary School team as the new principal.  This is a wonderful community of students, families, and teachers and together we will have a fantastic year!

To our new families, I welcome you to one of the top performing schools in Atlanta Public Schools.  Much of this success is due to the dedication and support of our current families who understand that the school and community working together ensures all children can and will thrive.  The other key to the success of Sarah Smith is the exemplary staff who not only educate - but advocate - for all our students.  Their commitment  to students reaching their potential is evident.  I am very fortunate to join this community as we build upon the strong tradition of Sarah Smith Elementary School.  

Over the past 18 years, I have had the pleasure of working in different roles in a variety of schools, however my most important role has been as a champion of all learners.  Spending time getting to know students as individuals, sharing their achievements, and encouraging them when they need a boost, is the best part of my job.  I cannot wait for our students to return, filling both campuses with energy and enthusiasm for learning.  Additionally, I hold degrees from Kennesaw State University (Educational Specialist in Leadership), Georgia State University (Masters in Education) and Sweet Briar College (Bachelor of Arts in History and Government).  

My husband, Jim, and I met in college and moved to his hometown of Atlanta in 2003.  We live in Brookwood Hills with our two children, Madeline, a rising 6th grader at Sutton Middle School, and Whitaker, a rising 5th grader at E. Rivers Elementary.  We consider ourselves lucky to be part of this vibrant city where there is always something new to discover, and spend our free time traveling within and outside of the city, as well as trying new restaurants.  When we decide to stay closer to home, we enjoy spending time with our pets: a dog, cat, and tortoise.  

In order to ensure we are ready to welcome you back in just a few weeks, the leadership team has been busy over the past month planning for a strong 2018-19 school year.  I  am pleased to announce that we have filled our administrative vacancies.  Jessica Harron will serve as the Program Administrator at the Primary Campus, Deyvi Portee will serve as the Assistant Principal at the Primary Campus, and Paula Webb will serve as the Assistant Principal at the Intermediate Campus.  Additionally, we are finalizing recommendations for one remaining position, meeting with members of the Sarah Smith community, and ensuring a smooth start to our new year.  

I look forward to welcoming all of you at the Celebration of Learning on July 30th from 12pm to 2pm and kicking off our 2018-19 school year on August 1st!

Sincerely,

 

Emily Boatright

Principal